Asia Cup 2022: Rohit Sharma will make this record as soon as the India vs Pakistan match starts

Image Source: PTI Captain Rohit Sharma in action

Asia Cup 2022: In the 15th edition of the Asia Cup, arch-rivals India and Pakistan will face each other on August 28.

As soon as the match started, the Indian captain, Rohit Sharma Record your name. Hitman will become the first Indian cricketer to play in seven consecutive Asia Cups. He has played this tournament six times so far and has represented Team India in 26 matches.

Read also: From the most successful team to the most successful player in Asia Cup history, here’s everything you need to know

India has won the Asia Cup trophy for the most number of times. The previous title was won by the Indian team in 2018 under the captaincy of Rohit.

Rohit will also be eyeing another record which the Master Blaster has set. Sachin Tendulkar, Tendulkar is the highest run-scorer in the Asia Cup among Indian players and Rohit has a chance to surpass him.

Tendulkar has scored 971 runs in 21 innings of the Asia Cup at an average of over 51, including two centuries and seven half-centuries. On the other hand, Rohit has scored 883 runs in 26 innings so far.

He is also the second highest run-scorer for India in the tournament. In the 2018 Asia Cup, Rohit scored 317 runs in five innings while performing brilliantly. This includes his one century against Pakistan.

When it comes to former India captain Virat KohliHe is the third highest run-scorer for India in the history of the tournament. He has scored 766 runs in 14 innings of this tournament at an average of 63.83. Virat is also the only Indian player to score three centuries in the Asia Cup.

India’s full team: Rohit Sharma, KL RahulVirat Kohli, Suryakumar Yadav, Deepak Hooda, Rishabh Pant, Dinesh Karthik, Hardik Pandya, Ravindra JadejaR Ashwin, Yuzvendra ChahalRavi Bishnoi, Bhuvneshwar KumarArshdeep Singh, Avesh Khan.

Standbys: Shreyas Iyer, Axar Patel, Deepak Chahar.

Pakistan full team: Babar Azmi, Shadab KhanAsif Ali, Fakhar ZamanHaider Ali, Haris Rauf, Iftikhar Ahmed, Mohammad Rizwan, Mohammad Wasim Jr., Naseem Shah, Khushdil Shah, Mohammad Nawaz, Shahnawaz Dahani, Usman Qadir.

Read also: Asia Cup 2022: Shaheen Shah Afridi of Pakistan will be out of the tournament, know in detail

latest cricket news