Assam, Meghalaya to constitute regional committees to resolve border disputes. India News – Times of India

New Delhi: Assam And Meghalaya will form three regional committees under the chairmanship of cupboard Ministers of both the states will resolve the border dispute in the remaining six areas of difference, Assam Chief Minister Himanta Biswa Sarma Said on Sunday.
Decision taken during the 9th meeting between Sarma and Meghalaya CM Conrad Sangma As part of the second phase of border talks
On March 29, the two northeastern states signed a memorandum of understanding to end a five-decade-old border dispute in six of the 12 disputed areas.

State Deputy CM Preston Tynsong said that resolving the border issue with Assam is the priority of the Meghalaya Democratic Alliance government.
The six areas taken up for final settlement in March include Tarabari (4.69 .) sq km), Geizang (13.53 sq km), Hahim (3.51 sq km), Bokalapara (1.57 sq km), Khanapara-Pilangkata (2.29 sq km) and night cherries (11.20 sq km).
The remaining six areas include the villages of disputed block 1 and 2 transferred from then United Khasi and from Jaintia district to Karbi Anglong district of Assam for administrative convenience in the 50s.
In 1972, Meghalaya was carved out of Assam and the two states share a border of 733 km.
(with inputs from agencies)