Confidence motion passed to protect Speaker: Deputy Chief Minister Mumbai News – Times of India

CM Eknath Shinde and Deputy CM Fadnavis with MLAs after trust vote

Mumbai: The new government will follow Balasaheb’s Hindutva Thackeray But CM will work for all sections of the society Eknath Shinde Told. We will not reverse all the decisions of the previous government out of revenge. We will undo only those decisions which do not follow the norms or are against the public good,” he said.
The fight ahead is for control of the legislature party of Shiv Sena. The issue of appointment of group leader and chief whip is in the Supreme Court with the next hearing on July 11. Both Uddhav’s camp and Shinde’s faction had issued whips before the trust vote asking the MLAs to vote in favor of the party. They both want to disqualify the MLAs of the rival camp.
“Action will be taken against those who voted against Gogawale’s whip,” Shinde said. Shiv Sena now has 40 MLAs in Shinde’s faction. However, if the disqualification bid against 15 MLAs of the Thackeray camp is successful, Aaditya Thackeray may be affected, Aaditya said, adding that “action will be taken against those who go against the whip of the Shiv Sena.”
At the same time, Deputy CM Devendra fadnavis Said that the legislature had on Monday passed a motion of confidence in favor of the speaker. “A few minutes after the Speaker won the election on Sunday, the opposition moved a no-confidence motion against him. This was done to prevent them from hearing petitions against Shiv Sena MLAs who violated Gogavale’s whip,” Fadnavis said. “Once the confidence motion is passed, no one can move a no-confidence motion against him for a year,” he said.
In all, 263 votes were cast in the trust vote, which was 25 less than the strength of the House. 20 MLAs were absent: 11 from Congress, 6 from NCP (including two in jail), 2 MLAs from BJP who are unwell and 1 MLA from AIMIM. 2 MLAs of SP and 1 MLA of AIMIM remained absent. BJP MLA Rahul Narvekar, elected as Speaker, could not cast his vote (thus the strength of Shiv Sena-BJP at the time of election of Speaker was 164 and could not become 165 despite another Shiv Sena MLA joining); And a Shiv Sena MLA has died.
Most of the MLAs who did not vote were present inside the assembly but could not vote as the doors were closed for voting. “Usually, there is a debate and then a vote of confidence. This time the vote was instant, so we got delayed. We are with the MVA and no other meaning should be taken out,” Congress’s Ashok Chavan said.
Fadnavis said, “I want to thank the MLAs who voted for us, including those who remained absent. It was an invisible hand that ensured that we got a big majority,” he said. Referring to the ridicule for saying ‘mi punha yen (I will return)’ during the 2019 elections, he said, “I have returned, but not alone. I have come with Eknath Shindeji.” Emphasizing on the unity of the Shiv Sena-BJP alliance, he said, “I will stand behind Eknath Shinde with all my might. There will be no power struggle between us.” Rejecting the allegations of BJP using ED’s threat of action to break Shiv Sena MLAs, it said, “It is true that these people have come with us because of ED. But This ED is Eknath-Devendra.”
NCP’s Ajit Pawar was elected leader of opposition in the assembly by the MVA.

Follow us on Social Media

FacebookTwitterinstagramKu APPyoutube