Eknath Shinde government wins trust vote, disqualifies 15 Shiv Sena MLAs. India News – Times of India

MUMBAI: The new Eknath Shinde The government in Maharashtra on Monday voted through a trust vote in the state assembly with 164 MLAs in its favor and 99 in favor of the Maha Vikas Aghadi (MVA). A day earlier, the MVA got eight votes less than him in the state assembly speaker’s election.
Shock to Uddhav Thackeray’s leadership Shiv SenaAnother MLA, Santosh Bangar from Marathwada, moved to the Shinde camp in the morning, reducing their number to 15. In addition, several opposition legislators including Congress stalwarts Ashok Chavan and. Vijay WadettiwarDidn’t arrive on time and couldn’t cast vote.

A total of 263 votes were cast in the trust vote, which was 25 less than the strength of the House. 20 MLAs remained absent from the assembly. Of these, 11 are from Congress, 6 from NCP (including two in jail), two MLAs from BJP who are unwell and one AIMIM MLA. Two SP MLAs and one AIMIM MLA abstained from voting. BJP MLA Rahul Narvekar, who was elected as speaker, could not cast his vote and a Shiv Sena MLA died.
Shinde camp’s Bharat Gogawale, whose appointment as Shiv Sena’s chief whip was approved by Assembly Speaker Rahul Narvekar on Sunday, on Monday evening filed a petition with the Speaker to disqualify 15 Shiv Sena MLAs, including Aaditya Thackeray. For those who had violated the whip to vote. For the party line.

“He didn’t even get 100 votes. we are real shiva Shiv Sena, and it is the Shiv Sena-BJP government that the people originally voted for in 2019,” Chief Minister Eknath Shinde said. He said the government would follow the Hindutva ideals of Shiv Sena founder Bal Thackeray but would work for all sections of the society. “We will not reverse all the decisions of the previous government out of vendetta,” he said. We will undo only those decisions which do not follow the norms or are against the public good. ,
The fight that follows is a legal one for the Shiv Sena’s control of the legislature party. The issue of appointment of group leader and chief whip is already in the SC with the next hearing on July 11. Both Uddhav’s camp and Shinde’s faction had issued whips before the trust vote asking the MLAs to vote in favor of the party. They both want to disqualify the MLAs of the rival camp.

“Action will be taken against those who voted against Gogawale’s whip,” Shinde said. Shiv Sena now has 40 MLAs in Shinde’s faction. However, if the disqualification bid against 15 MLAs of the Thackeray camp is successful, Aaditya Thackeray may be affected, Aaditya himself said, adding that “action will be taken against those who go against the whip of the Shiv Sena.”
Meanwhile, Deputy Chief Minister Devendra Fadnavis said that the legislature had on Monday passed a confidence motion in favor of the speaker. “A few minutes after the Speaker won the election on Sunday, the opposition moved a no-confidence motion against him. This was done to prevent them from hearing petitions against Shiv Sena MLAs who violated Gogavale’s whip,” Fadnavis said. “Once the confidence motion is passed, no one can move a no-confidence motion against him for a year,” he said.


Most of the MLAs who did not vote were present inside the assembly but could not vote as the doors were closed for voting. “Usually, there is a debate and then a vote of confidence. This time the vote was instant, so we got delayed. We are with the MVA and no other meaning should be taken from it,” Congress leader Ashok Chavan said.
Fadnavis mocked the opposition MLAs for their absence. “I want to thank the MLAs who voted for us, including those who remained absent. It was an invisible hand that ensured that we got a big majority,” he said.

Referring to the ridicule for saying ‘mi punha yen (I will return)’ during the 2019 elections, after which the MVA came to power, he said, “I have returned, but not alone. I have come with Eknath Shindeji.” ”
Emphasizing on the unification of the Shiv Sena-BJP alliance, he said, “I will stand behind”. Eknath Shinde with full force. There will be no power struggle between us.” Rejecting the allegations of the BJP using the threat of ED action to break the Shiv Sena MLAs, Fadnavis said, “It is true that these people have come with us because of the ED. But this ED is Eknath-Devendra.”
Ajit Pawar of the NCP was chosen by the MVA as the Leader of the Opposition in the Assembly.
Later in the evening, Shinde went to pay homage at the Bal Thackeray memorial at Shivaji Park.