ENG vs IND, 1st T20I, Southampton: Laxman to join Indian team as head coach in series opener

Image Source : Twitter (@VVSLAXMAN281)

According to reports, VVS Laxman will join the Indian team as the head coach for the first T20 International against England.

As India’s tour of Ireland comes to an end, it is time for another round of auditions to determine a probable squad that will fly to Australia for the T20I World Cup to be played in October this year. Team India would love to try and test some of the youngsters who were at their disposal in the Ireland series but things got a lot easier for them during the series. With a 2–0 win in the two-match T20I series against the Irish, the men in blue had no option but to make any changes and remained with almost the same number of players.

Much to India’s luck, he won the series against the Irish and now his caravan moves to England with VVS Laxman as the head coach and Hardik PandyaWho can lead the Indian team for the opener of the series. Gujarat Titans captain is fresher than himself IPL 2022 exploits and is probably being touted as one of the contenders for India’s next white-ball captaincy. India team has a good mix of experience and youth for Ireland and to put up a good performance against the Irish side, coach VVS Laxman has been entrusted with the responsibility of handling the team and providing them all the guidance they need .

At present, two squads are stationed at different places. The Test team, led by head coach Rahul Dravid, is competing against England in the remaining Test match to be played last year and the other team is sweating it out for the three-match T20I series in Southampton. It will be interesting to see the team combination that Laxman and Pandya decide to play with.

choice of Virat KohliPant and Bumrah will take part in the second and third T20Is as the current Test match ends on June 5, 2022.

Indian team for first T20 match: Rohit Sharma (Captain), Ishan Kishan, Ruturaj Gaekwad, Sanju Samson, Suryakumar Yadav, Deepak Hooda, Rahul Tripathi, Dinesh Karthik (wicketkeeper), Hardik Pandya, Venkatesh Iyer, Yuzvendra ChahalAkshar Patel, Ravi Bishnoi, Bhuvneshwar KumarHarshal Patel, Avesh Khan, Arshdeep Singh, Umran Malik

Indian squad for 2nd and 3rd T20 Internationals: Rohit Sharma (Captain), Ishan Kishan, Virat Kohli, Suryakumar Yadav, Deepak Hooda, Shreyas Iyer, Dinesh Karthik (wk), Rishabh Pant (wk), Hardik Pandya, Ravindra JadejaYuzvendra Chahal, Axar Patel, Ravi Bishnoi, Jasprit BumrahBhuvneshwar Kumar, Avesh Khan, Harshal Patel, Umran Malik

Indian team for 3 ODIs: Rohit Sharma (Captain), Shikhar DhawanIshan Kishan, Virat Kohli, Suryakumar Yadav, Shreyas Iyer, Rishabh Pant (wk), Hardik Pandya, Ravindra Jadeja, Shardul Thakur, Yuzvendra Chahal, Axar Patel, J Bumrah, Prasidh Krishna, Mohd Shami, Mohd Siraj, Arshdeep Singh